• RLA Overview  

    Our RLA program is a balanced curriculum based on the CCSS (Common Core State Standards). This academic block encompasses Reading, Grammar, and Spelling.

    The students will be instructed utilizing the following New York State modules in Reading:
    The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
    Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

    These modules require students to use critical thinking skills as they evaluate texts and improve their reading and writing skills. As students progress through the modules, their task will be to meet learning targets.
    In addition to the modules, the students will also be using Interactive Reader. This workbook enables the students to write their thoughts and ideas as they read informational text. Each of these reading selections includes skill builder pages with scaffolding as well as pertinent graphic organizers. The text analysis, strategy, or reading skill is aligned with the CCSS (Common Core State Standards).
    Also, Time for Kids, Scholastic News and Scope Magazine will be used as resources for pertinent informational articles in class. The current event selections in these magazines support the reading and writing standards and literacy skills that are an integral part of the Common Core.

    Grammar (Language)
    Students are taught the parts of speech and their implications for better sentence construction as they work to meet the Learning Targets that are part of the Common Core.

    Spelling is skill based with a focus on phonics patterns. These skills provide instructional opportunities for
    students to utilize what they have learned about words within the context of reading and writing.

Last Modified on May 1, 2019